I know it seems inconceivable but I’m going to put chickens before Abraham Lincoln. (But it is really tough, honest.)

Best Book I got in on the new book order:

Tillie Lays an Egg by Terry Golson.tilly

It’s got pictures of real chickens, 50’s memorabilia, eggs to count and even multiply, a Where’s Waldo factor, and a funny, funny ending.

Children and all other chicken lovers will have a delightful time with Tilly!

Runners-up:

Abe’s Honest Words by Doreen Rappaport is a combination bio and quotations including one of my favorites about trying to please people (I’ll put it on the quote page soon).

How to Heal a Broken Wing by Bob Graham quotes Bob as saying, “In troubled time, when many of us are losing contact with the natural world, I wanted to show that there is still hope in a coming generation of children who have curiosity and empathy with the world around them, and that care and attention can sometimes fix broken wings.” He does a fine job.

