I love a good story, a well written story, a story that stays with me. And I old bookslove find such stories to give to kids, knowing that a good story, a well written story, a story with staying power stands a good chance of helping a kid fall in love with books and reading.

But I take exception with folks who think that books must be old and “classic” in order to fulfill such a role in a child’s or teen’s life. That’s what I’m reading here from Lesley M.M. Blume at NPR. (I have to admit, however, that it’s not so much what I hear from the interview).

Sure, if it’s a book we loved (and probably still love), our excitement can be the turning point for a kid. And it’s more likely to be so if we read it aloud to them (remember, reading aloud is good at ALL ages).

But there are many excellent stories being written today. And there’s nothing magical about an older book versus a newer book for getting kids hooked on reading. The most important point is that they read.

Here’s more in posts Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Moe–How to Choose Children’s Books and What Makes a Lasting Children’s Story.

What have you found with your kids?

Babette

