In case you’ve missed it, the Winter Olympics open tomorrow, Friday the 12th. While I enjoy the Summer Olympics, the Winter Games always leave me with my mouth hanging open. Whether it’s the ski jumps, the snowboarding, or the figure skating, “How do they do that?” blurts from my mouth every few minutes. While the athleticism is as great, I just don’t have the same reaction with track and field in the summer. 😉

To this day, though, I still can’t explain how ice skates work. And this NBC site for learning about the science behind the events shows me that there’s more to learn about than just ice skates. SLJ has a write-up here that gives an overview of all the NBC site has to offer. Video-based, it should be fun for families to visit during breaks in the coverage.

Here’s to the wonder!

Babette

